skip to Main Content
KOAL 2015

I-KOAL-2105 was organized as International Conference on “Knowledge Organization in Academic Libraries” under the theme of DIGITAL INDIA: DIGITAL LIBRARIES from January 2-3 at Manipal University, Jaipur, Rajasthan.

The inaugural session started with the welcome address by Dr. Kukum Garg, Dean (Faculty of Engineering) Manipal University. Dr. M. Natarajan, President, LPA apprised the audience, about the historical background, events, services and activities conducted by LPA followed by the brief conference details by Mr. Salek Chand, Conference Convener and Secretary LPA. Dr. Sandeep Sancheti President, MUJ in his presidential address emphasized the importance of libraries as reservoirs of knowledge and how the implementation of digital domain in them can enhance their importance. Dr. Bernd Markscheffel graced the occasion as guest of honor from Germany.

Mr. Kailash Verma MLA, Bagru talked about the education level in the state of Rajasthan and contribution of MUJ in this area. This was followed by the release of conference volume by the Chief Guest Mr. Kalicharan Saraf, the Hon’ble Technical Education Minister and Minister of S&T of the State. The conference volume has 50 screened papers by the editorial committee out of 74 received papers. Sh. Kalicharan Saraf, not only welcomed all the participants and also shared his views about the importance of libraries in knowledge society.

A book titled: “Knowledge Management: Challenges and Applications” authored by Dr. M Natarajan, Ex-Head, Education and Training, Editor- JSIR, NISCAIR New Delhi and President LPA was also released during the session. Prof. Saran from MUJ proposed vote of thanks at the end. To promote library and information science profession and motivate budding professionals a small award ceremony was also condu

Best coordinator award: Dr. KiranTiwari, Dr. Anita Gangrade and Dr. Anita Jain
Best publicity award: Mr. Anil Jharotia
First registered participant award: Ms. Priti Mavyas from Kota
First paper submitted: Dr. Kaushal Chauhan from Ambala
Leadership in LIS: Mr. Anand Anjani Jha from CMS India
Best sponsorship award: Mr. Manish Chhabra from New Delhi
Univ. librarian award: Mr. Yogender Singh from IIT Roorkee
School librarian: Ms. Renu Gupta
Corporate Librarian: Dr. Sadabihari Sahu
College librarian: Ms. Richa gupta
Sh. Sukhdev Singh Award: Sh Laxman Singh, MUJ
Public library: Dr. D.K. Srivastava
Best paper award: Mrs. Indu Dhawan and Mr. Dalip Singh


Back To Top